2014 Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling: Edward Snowden and Laura Poitras


Attending the annual awarding of the Ridenhour Prizes at the National Press Club in Washington, DC, is always a unique and inspiring experience. These prizes “memorialize the spirit of fearless truth-telling that Vietnam War whistleblower and investigative journalist Ron Ridenhour reflected throughout his extraordinary life and career.” Held on April 30 this year, the 2014 Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling was awarded to Edward Snowden and filmmaker Laura Poitras. Here’s what we saw and heard as Snowden and Poitras appeared via live-streaming video:

Climate Science Watch is a program of the Government Accountability Project (GAP), the nation’s leading whistleblower protection and advocacy organization.

The Ridenhour Prizes

About Ron Ridenhour

Other 2014 Ridenhour Prizes:

Courage Prize: Frederick A. O. Schwarz Jr.

Documentary Film Prize: Gideon’s Army, produced and directed by Dawn Porter

Book Prize: Sheri Fink, Five Days at Memorial: Life and Death in a Storm-Ravaged Hospital

New York Times: Snowden to Receive Truth-Telling Prize

Some earlier Ridenhour prizes:

The Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling 2011: NSA whistleblower Thomas Drake

The Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling 2009: Secret surveillance whistleblower Thomas Tamm

The Ridenhour Courage Prize 2013 — James Hansen

Earlier posts:

NSA whistleblower Thomas Drake at the University of the District of Columbia

Tom Drake and Rick Piltz spoke at the University of the District of Columbia Law School on March 22, 2013.

Rick Piltz remarks on receiving the Ridenhour Truth-Telling Prize 2006

This entry was posted in Whistleblowers. Bookmark the permalink.